Page 1 of 1 pages
(6 pictures)
Picture relating to Stanthorpe - titled 'Farley's Mining Exchange Hotel Stanthorpe, ca. 1872'
Picture relating to Stanthorpe - titled 'Gibbs and Emerick, signwriters, household painters, plumbers, glaziers and paper hangers, Maryland Street Stanthorpe, 1872'
Picture relating to Stanthorpe - titled 'People gathered around a wagon outside the Wheal Edith Mine office at Stanthorpe, 1872'
Picture relating to Stanthorpe - titled 'Offices of the New Banca Tin Mining Company Stanthorpe, 1872'
Picture relating to Stanthorpe - titled 'Maryland Street Stanthorpe, 1872'
Picture relating to Stanthorpe - titled 'Tin miners and their huts at Stanthorpe, 1872'

Farley's Mining Exchange Hotel Stanthorpe, ca. 1872

contributed by QldPics, taken in 1872
(contact QldPics about this picture)

Henry Farley was a well known Ballarat man who arrived in Stanthorpe in May 1872 where he established the hotel. Successive proprietors recorded included Mrs Farley (1873), T. W. Symes (1874) and Len Evans (1875). In 1885 the name was changed to Hales Hotel and by 1898 it changed to a boarding house run by J. Fletcher. (Description taken from: Harslett and Royle, They came to a Plateau : (the Stanthorpe Saga), 3rd ed., 1980)
Stanthorpe is the commercial centre of the Granite Belt in Queensland. The region is unique for its wide seasonal variations, occasionally snowing in winter. The name Stanthorpe comes from the Latin word 'stannum', meaning tin, and the English word 'thorp' meaning village. The town grew around a coaching station established in 1857 and boomed in 1872 when tin was discovered near Quart Pot Creek. Fruit growing and winemaking are the two main industries in Stanthorpe today. (Information taken from: UBD Queensland Country Link Street & Travel Directory - 15 ed.)

This picture is also part of the following Bonzle photo collections: