River Murray contributed by DerrickJessop taken on 20 September 2011
(contact DerrickJessop about this picture | see 3146 other pictures from DerrickJessop)

Previous picture4 of 8 pictures of River MurrayNext picture

Picture of / about 'River Murray' South Australia, Victoria and New South Wales - River Murray

The Murray River flag originated in 1850 with the Upper and Lower River flags slightly different. Both have the Union Jack and the red cross with 5 stars representing the five colonies of NSW, Vic, Tas, SA, and WA looking like the Eureka Stockade flag. The blue stripes (light blue for Lower and dark blue for Upper River) represent the main rivers of the Murray Darling Basin, the Murray, Darling, Murrumbidgee and Lachlan; the three white stripes the three states involved, SA, Vic and NSW. The truth of this interpretation is lost to history.

This picture has been viewed 6052 times since 28 September 2011

Rate this picture (5=excellent): 1 2 3 4 5